Hiking tents: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Okay, so I don’t know if “the Ugly” really applies, but I’m interested to hear everyone’s input on their favorite hiking tent. Which tent and why?

For instance, I’ve been using the K-Way Treklite 3 (now Nerolite 3) for a few years and I’ve been very happy with it. It has stood up to some pretty bad weather (not extreme though), it’s fairly light and sleeps 2 people very comfortably and 3 people is snug. The vestibule is great for cooking and storing your boots out of the rain.

Also, if you’ve had a particularly bad experience with a specific tent, feel free to share that too.

And, GO!

2 Likes

Hi Arno,

I have been using the K-WAY Basecamp 3 persons tent for 2 years now. I mostly use it for two people since we are tall and have quite big backpacks. The tent has done some intense conditions in the Drakensberg, wind, rain, mist and has always held good ! The main downside is the weight, 4,5 kg that is a bit too much for long expedition when you need to take a lot of food with. Also the condensation in tent can be a problem !

I would be very interested to have a feedback on the K-Way Kilimanjaro 2 Person Tent

I am now looking for a lighter tent, maybe MSR mutha hubba NX !

Thanks

Alexandre

1 Like

Hi

I have been using the Marmot Limelight 2 person tent for a few years now and has been very happy with it.

The footprint comes as part of the tent which adds that little security against shrubs and cold from the bottom.

At 2.5kg’s it is also nice and lightweight but the vestibule could be a little bigger as not too much room for cooking purposes as well as storing your bags in bad weather.

Regards

1 Like

Is the Marmot Limelight 2 available in South Africa?