Best "Low-Budget" Hiking Boots

Hi Guys,
I’m looking to buy general hiking boots, and my budget is around R1500,
I’m currently looking at the K-Way Edge2 and Hi-Tec Wildfire Gamekeepers.
What do you guys think of these, and do you have any recommendations?
Thank you!

After years of going through boots, (I have been hiking for over 30 yrs) trust me that certain brands says ‘its waterproof’ it does not mean much. Hitec lives up to their promises, so go with the wildfire. Waterproofing and Grip probably are the most important things you need and when Hitec says they have it they will.

1 Like

The Edge2 and Wildfire will both probably score high in the comfort and weight categories, but will not be as durable and supportive as a full leather boot.
Hi-Tec currently has the Altitude OX on sale which looks like fantastic value for money:
https://www.hi-tec.co.za/product/altitude-ox-i-wp?variant=1002984
Or alternatively the Altitude V Ultra:

The classic Jim Green Razorbacks are indestructible and also in your price range, but are comparatively heavy and not as comfy as the modern lightweight boots.

1 Like

Hallo Adriaan. Ek het so 4 x dagstappe en 1 x tweedag-staptog terug, vir my Hi-Tec Altitutde OX i WP stapskoene gekoop. Persoonlik dink ek die skoene is great! Dit dra regtig gemaklik - goeie ondersteunende binnesole, goeie buitesole wat vastrap en nie sommer gly in die nat weer op klippe nie, ondersteunend vir die enkels, die tong is vasgewerk en die skoene gedra hul goed selfs met 'n swaar stapsak. (Die donkerbruin is ook baie mooi as jy een van die ouens is wat met 'n “rugget look” en nuwe skoene in die stad wil spog…hahaha) Op die tweedag-staptog het ons in ligte reen gestap vir 'n halwe dag - geen probleme ervaar nie aangesien die goed waterdig is. Die bo-leer begin reeds effens tekens toon van harde stap, maar dis logies. Die skoene is tans by Hi-Tec ook op 'n spesiale aanbod van R1599 wat beslis binne jou begroting val. Ek beveel die skoene aan.

1 Like