Light hiking tents - Naturehike

Hi all,

I am looking to buy a light 2-3 man hiking tent which is little over 2 kilograms at a reasonable price.

Naturehike have some good options and are well priced:

• Cloud 2
  • Mongar

Any thoughts on which one would be better sited for berg hiking? Seems like the Mongar is more spacious and as it is built off the MSR Hubba Hubba so swaying towards that one.

Thanks,
Adrian

I’m a big fan of the Mongar - very livable and quite sturdy.
The First Ascent Lunar is a bit heavier, but very sturdy.
Both of these are 2-person tents - squeezing in a third might be possible, but it won’t comfortable, so don’t buy it with 3 people in mind.

1 Like

Thanks Arno. Looks like a good option and more than half the price of the MSR.
I was worried about weight of First Ascent. They seemed much heavier.

I have been using and enjoying a Naturehike Star River 2 for a couple of years, which is very similar to the Mongar. Think it is based off of one of the Big Agnes designs in this case. 2 doors and vestibules makes all the difference to me when sharing, no crawling over each other and space for both people to stash gear. I find the Cloud Up 2 a little tight, and if I’m splitting the load between two people it doesn’t feel worth the weight saved.

Mine has stood up to some decent wind and rain in the Cederberg, but I don’t frequent the berg, so got nothing to contribute there :sweat_smile:

The Helios would be the more robust 2 man option I know of, but heavier and less flexible.

And if you are looking 3 man then it would probably be the Hiby. Which is about the same weight as the Helio with the benefit of a substantial vestibule for a chunk more money.

https://www.naturehike.co.za/collections/tents/products/hiby-ultralight-3-person-tent?variant=23592535720017