New member looking for (Limpopo) hikes

Hey everyone,

New member here. I’m Marcel, from the Netherlands but I’ve been in SA for a while now, and hoping to stay much longer. I’ve been coming here for many years now after I fell in love with the country in 2006. Especially as a biologist, the nature is amazing here, and as someone who likes mountains, it is quite a step up from the little ol’, flat Netherlands.

Right now, I live in a small town in Limpopo, Hoedspruit, and it is proving to be kind of hard to find hiking buddies. I’ve done quite a few hikes in the area solo, which is also great, but it would be nice to team up for some hikes.

Unfortunately, my time is somewhat limited to the weekends for now, due to work, so I can’t go too far. However, if anyone is up for hiking in the Hoedspruit/Magoebaskloof area, let me know. I still have a lot of the Mariepskop to explore, as well as Lekgalameetse/Wolkberg/Agatha reserves. I’m also quite familiar with the Soutpansberg, possibly my favourite area of SA so far. Some great hikes to be done over there.

So yah, I’m always up for trying out new trails or redoing some of my favorites around here. Any excuse to go out in nature is a good one. I’ll be keeping an eye on the forums here as well.

Regards,

Marcel

5 Likes

Hello Marcel

I saw your message and wanted to reach out.

I am based in Haenertsburg which is about 5km from Magoebaskloef. I am looking for hiking buddies.

Walked the PCT in 2019, have done numerous hikes in and around the area. One day I want to walk the Via Alpina😊.

I am very flexible as it is winter and my garden, landscaping business is very quiet.

Kind regards

Barry

2 Likes

Hey Barry,

Thanks for the message. Yah totally. I love the Haenertsburg area, been there quite a bit. So much to do there.