New to hiking and need some advice please

Hello there!, boy oh boy am I glad I found this forum!.

Guys I need some advice please! ,I am new to hiking and I am planning on doing either the icidi gorge or the bell traverse 3day trails in the drakensberge…

but my problem is while doing some research on the interweb I saw in a article that states both the trails is extremly difficult, so my question is can it really be that bad?

Thank you!

HI Ruan

Icidi pass is known to be the most difficult pass in the Drakensberg. The Bell Traverse is beautiful and not physically as hard as Icidi, but has exposed sections (i.e. mildly dangerous) and requires some navigational skill.
Why not start off with something easier and less dangerous to find your Drakensberg feet first? Something like going up with Organ Pipes pass and down Mlambonja (or the other way around) is a spectacular hike and good training.

2 Likes

PS: if you haven’t done a few Drakensberg multi-day hikes before, Icidi and Bell Traverse can be as bad as they say :wink:

2 Likes

I agree, Icidi is meant to be one of the harder passes out there. For a beginner route I would rather recommend the Mnweni - Rockeries loop route in the Mnweni area.

3 Likes

How new are you to hiking? Have you done wilderness hikes before? Where have you hiked? What would you rate your fitness as? It’s difficult to say how hard it would be without this sort of context.