Online shopping in South Africa

Hey everyone!
I’m brand new to the hiking scene and have spent the last few weeks watching gear reviews and finding out about trails to do - which is how I found you guys!

Just wanted to check which online gear shops you guys use that are based in SA as well as which ones are not based here, but are reliable to ship here?

So far I have found:

local:
capeunion
naturehike
outdoorwarehouse
mountainmailorder
firstascent

non-local:
trekinn (limited shipping on certain products)

Would greatly appreciate any of your favorites!

Thanks
Andew

1 Like

For local:
Drifters
Camp and Climb

1 Like

A-Gear is another great local option: https://agear.co.za/

As well as Decathlon: https://www.decathlon.co.za/

1 Like

For non-local:
Before the global supply issues I have previously ordered gear from Amazon (great because there are no import duty surprises and it gets here by courier). But currently they have very little stock coming this way, because the world is a little wobbly.

I’ve also ordered stuff off Aliexpress without any issue, if you can stomach the uncertainty of waiting for months for stuff to finally arrive, and the gamble on import duties.

Also don’t forget the classified section on here.

1 Like

Drifters is always solid. Decathlon has great price/quality ratio if you can find the right things (Fleeces, down jackets, rechargeable headlamps, eva mattresses are stand outs)

Wish Orca would start doing online sales, as in person they are great to deal with.