Which fuel do you use?

Hi everyone.
We are gonna tour and hike SA in the comming year (esp. Cederberge, Drakensberge, and a bit all around), and are just getting our equipment sorted. We were just going to use this as a reason to get a bit of a bigger stove - as I am a sucker for the trangia, that would be the choice: https://trangia.se/en/shop/trangia-stove-25-1-ul/
Just to be sure, though, I checked, and didn’t find any burning spirit in any of the Cape Town outdoor shops. Am I just missing something, or could that actually be a problem in SA? We will have a car, so could store an extra bottle or two while we are out of the cities; but I would prefer not to take a 3 month supply with us from Europe…
I searched this forum a bit and get the impression that most people do use gas stoves. Is that so? Any experience on going with a spirit burner, supply-wise?

Thanks for the feedback!
Adrian.

p.s.: Multi-fuel stoves are only the third option for me.

I’ve very little experience with white fuel stoves (made some small stoves over the years, decided they were not worth the effort), so if anyone knows more please correct me :sweat_smile:

The easiest source of fuel you will find is methylated spirits. Which is generally 95% ethanol with additives to make it visually distinct and unpalatable and give it an odor. You can get it at most hardware shops or grocery stores.

As far as I understand it burns clean, and I have used it successfully in small stoves. I don’t enjoy the smell of it burning and it can leave behind a sticky residue from the additives. In the UK some people talk about fixing this by adding a little water.

You can also get rubbing alcohol in pharmacies, which is generally 90% ethanol. So no additives but not sure it is the best in terms of energy output and price.