Hydration Reservoirs(Bladders): Plastic taste

Evening all.

I’ve tried an Osprey Hydraulics in the last year, stopped using it as it’s too foul tasting - my precious mountain water tasting fong kong is not on, at all. So yes before you ask I’ve done the washing, the lemon wash, the lemon and bicarb wash, the lemon and bicarb soak wash, the lemon and bicarb soak freeze wash, the lemon and lemon…
Gave up. Returned it. Received new one and now eyeing at it with suspicion, still packaged.

So, do all reservoirs taste like plastic. Online is divided, it seems. And when I ask shop staff they either shrug or tell me to use Game or some such sports drink, effectively masking the nasty taste. Now I’m no molecular scientist but I reckon tasting plastic means swallowing plastic, how do these companies have the gall to sell us this trash at these prices? I’m loathe to now buy several questing to find the sweet one.

Anyway, thoughts, experiences?
My guess is, I dread…"It’s subjective"

(meantime i’ll sip from my metal jug)

1 Like

Hey Carl
That plasticy taste is always there, but at various degrees - I’ve used MSR (dromedaries), Osprey, Camelback, Nathan, First Ascent… Some better than others and with some it got worse over time. The “plastic” being used is normally food-grade polyurethane so I wont be too concerned about the health effects; we are exposed to far higher quantities of real nasty in our suburban lives (not to mention that we habitually indulge in ethanol, which is a known carcinogen and destrys brain cells).
Back to the taste: I eventually bought myself a 1.8l stainless steel bottle (wide mouth) and haven’t looked back - doesn’t puncture and after 10 years of abuse its still going strong. Far better taste, looks more “mountain” and will last forever.
I do still use my 10l Drom for when we set up camp some distance from a water source - still a very useful piece of equipment that…

1 Like

Hi Carl,